The very humblest of beginnings

This photo has little to do with teaching, but I'm pretty chuffed about how I look in full kit at last year's inaugural Whitecaps FC Media Challenge.

This photo has little to do with teaching, but I’m still pretty chuffed about how I look in full kit at last year’s inaugural Whitecaps FC Media Challenge.

Having more than a decade of classroom management experience, plus a couple of years as an Workplace Essential Skills Coach, I found myself torn by the invitation to take courses in the Provincial Instructor Diploma Program. My status as a new faculty member at VCC allowed me to challenge courses through Prior Learning and Assessment Recognition, which would match up my training and experience with course descriptions and reduce how many classes I’d be required to complete. Alternatively, I could take the chance to revisit the materials I’d danced through at the turn of the millennium.

Surely there were things I’d missed that first time round. No doubt I’d find theories that agreed with, or more interestingly, flew in the face of my practical experience with students and colleagues.

So I skipped the PLAR and jumped on the first available class. What follows here will comprise observations, assignments and other materials explored and unearthed as I dig through the PIDP course load. First up, the introductory course, PIDP 3100.

I apologize in advance for off-topic posts, pictures and links. They will almost certainly appear — in fact, here’s one accompanying this very post. I have no soccer-related analogy to make this picture’s inclusion worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

